Saturday, 12 December 2015
HOW TO DELETE A PARTITION ON A HARD DRIVE
You must be logged on as an administrator to perform these steps.
When you delete a hard disk partition/volume you create empty space that you can use to create new partitions.
If your hard disk is currently set up as a single partition, then you can't delete it. You also can't delete the system partition, boot partition, or any partition that contains the virtual memory paging file, because Windows needs this information to start correctly.
All data on a partition will be lost when you delete it. Make a backup before deleting any partition.
1. On the computer desktop, right click on the 'Computer' icon.
2. Select 'Manage'
3. Click Disk 'Management'
4. Right click the partition you want to delete.
5. Click Delete.
6. Click Yes to confirm.